top of page

#Gita Chapter 10 (English translation)

 

Chapter 10

YOGA OF THE DIVINE GLORIES–VIBHUTHI YOGA

Sri Krishna Bhagavan speaks:

Once again, Mahabaaho (Arjuna) listen to my Supreme word, which I, wishing your welfare, will declare to you who delight in hearing Me. II10.1II

(Closely verbatim to Swami Chinmayananda, The Holy Geeta)

Neither the gods nor the great sages know my origin for I am the source of them all. II10.2II

Whoever knows Me as the unborn, without beginning, and the Absolute Lord of the universe, he is not deluded and is delivered from all sins. II10.3II

(Note: See Vocabulary Notes for the context of the word "Me".)

Intellect, knowledge, non-delusion, forgiveness, truth, self-control (of the senses), calmness, happiness, pain, birth or death, fear, and fearlessness … II10.4II

… non-injury, equanimity, contentment, charity, fame, and infamy–these different dispositions arise from Me alone. II10.5II

The seven great sages, the ancient four, and the Manus (“the efficient and material causes of the macrocosmic and microcosmic worlds created”) from whom all the creatures in this world are born–they are all born from Me. II10.6II

(Quotes from Swami Chinmayananda, The Holy Geeta)

He who knows this manifold manifestation of My being, he becomes established in yoga. There is no doubt about this. II10.7II

‘I am the source of all. Everything evolves from Me’–The wise understand this, and endowed with meditation, worship Me. II10.8II

With their minds fixed on Me, their life-breath absorbed in Me, they are content and delighted speaking of Me always. II 10.9II

To these who are steadfast, worshipping filled with love, I give the power of discrimination by which they come to Me. II10.10II

Out of mere compassion towards these men, I destroy the darkness of ignorance with the lamp of wisdom. II10.11II

Arjuna speaks:

You are that Supreme Brahman, the Supreme Light, the Supreme Sanctifier, that Eternal Divine Being, the Primeval God, Birth-less, and Omnipresent. II10.12II

All the sages like the divine rishi Narada and other rishis, including Asita, Devala, and Vyasa have declared this about You. II10.13II

Keshava (Sri Krishna), I accept to be true all that You and the sages have said to me. Neither the gods nor the demons comprehend Your glory. II10.14II

Only You Yourself know Yourself, Supreme Being, Source of all beings, Lord of all Beings, God of the gods, Ruler of the world. II10.15II

Tell me, without reservation, the glories with which You pervade these worlds. II10.16II

Master (Sri Krishna), how will I know You by remaining ever-engaged in meditation? And through what objects should I meditate on You? II10.17II

Janardana (Sri Krishna), I am not content in hearing your nectar-like words. Tell me, once again, in detail, Your yogic powers and Your glory. II10.18II

Sri Krishna Bhagavan speaks:

I will now describe to you, according to their importance, My own (finite) glories which are indeed divine, Kurushreshta (the best among the Kurus, Arjuna). There is no end to My (infinite) manifestations. II10.19II

I am the Self, Gudakesha (Arjuna), seated in the heart of all beings. I am the beginning, the middle, and also the end of all beings. II10.20II

(Closely verbatim to Alladi Mahadeva Sastry, The Bhagavad Gita)

Among the sons of Aditi, I am Vishnu.

Among the givers of light, I am the radiant Sun.

Of the moving air (winds), I am Marichi.

Of the asterisms, I am the Moon. II10.21II

Among the Vedas, I am Sama Veda (the book of hymns).

Among the powers of nature, I am Indra (the electric force of lightning).

Of the sense organs, I am the mind.

In living beings, I am sentience (“that manifests in the aggregate of the body and the senses”). II10.22II

(Quotes from Alladi Mahadeva Sastry, The Bhagavad Gita)

Among the Rudras (the deities of creative destruction*), I am Shankara.

Among the Yakshas and Rakshashas (the “materialistic and the heartless”), I am the Lord of Wealth (Kubera).

Of the Vasus, I am Pavaka (anala–fire).

Of the mountains, I am Meru. II10.23II

(Note: The Vasus are the eight deities presiding over the seasons of the body and the mind.)

(* In destruction lies the seed of creation.)

(Quotes from Swami Chinmayananda, The Holy Geeta)

Partha (Arjuna), know Me to be

the foremost of the royal priests–Brhaspati.

Among the commanders of armies, I am Skanda (Subramanya, Karthikeya).

Of the reservoirs, I am the ocean. II10.24II

Of the great sages, I am Bhrigu.

Among words, I am the single-syllabled (Om).

Of sacrifices, I am japa (silent repetition of prayer).

Among the immovable, (I am) the Himalaya. II10.25II

Of all the trees, I am Ashvatta (the pipal tree–ficus religiosa).

Of the heavenly seers, I am Narada.

Of the celestials (Gandharvas), I am Chitraratha.

Among the thinkers, I am Kapila (the author of Saankhya philosophy). II10.26II

Among horses, I am Ucchaisravas (the royal horse that emerged from the churning of the ocean of milk–Samudra Manthan–which appears in the Bhaagavata Purana, Mahabharata, and Vishnu Purana).

Know Me to be born from nectar.

Among the elephants, I am Airavata (Indra’s mount).

Among men, I am their king. II10.27II

Among weapons, I am the thunderbolt.

Among cows, I am Kamadhenu (the wish-fulfilling cow of sage Vashishta that emerged from the churning of the ocean of milk).

Of those who procreate, I am Kandarpa (Cupid–the god of love).

Of the single-hooded snakes, I am Vasuki (the adornment on Lord Shiva’s ring finger–and the serpent who volunteered to serve as the rope in the churning of the ocean). II10.28II

Of the many-hooded serpents, I am Ananta (the bed upon which Vishnu reclines).

Among the water gods, I am Varuna (the ruler of the oceans).

Of the ancestors, I am Aryaman (the ruler of the world of ancestors).

Among those who maintain law and order, I am Yama (the Lord of Death). II10.29II

Among those who don’t believe, I am Prahalada (the young devotee born in a demoniac lineage).

Among those who calculate time, I am the present.

Among animals, I am the lion and

Among birds, I am the eagle (Garuda–Vishnu’s mount). II10.30II

Of the purifiers, I am the wind.

Among those who wield weapons, I am Sri Rama.

Of the fish, I am the shark.

Among the streams, I am Jahnavi (Ganga). II10.31II

Of creation, I am the beginning

and also the middle and the end.

Among the sciences, I am the Science of the Self (Atmavidya).

In debate, I am logic. II10.32II

Among alphabets, I am the letter “A”.

Among compound words, I am dvandva (dual–a compound of two or more words, which if not compounded would remain in the same case and be connected with the word “and”).

Moreover, I am indestructible Time and

the Dispenser (of the fruits of action of the whole world) with the universal face. II10.33II

I am all-devouring death and

The prosperity in those destined to be prosperous.

Of the feminine qualities, I am fame, fortune, speech,

memory, intelligence, fortitude, and forgiveness. II10.34II

Among hymns, I am Brhat-saamaan

Among the poetic metres, I am Gaayatri

Among the months, I am Maargasheersha (mid-December to mid-January)

Among the seasons, I am the season filled with flowers (Spring). II10.35II

Of the fraudulent, I am gambling.

I am the splendor of the splendid.

I am victory and I am determination.

I am goodness in the good. II10.36II

Among the Vrishni clan, I am Vaasudeva (Sri Krishna was born to Vasudeva, a scion of the Vrishni clan).

Among the Pandavas, I am Dhananjaya (Arjuna).

Among the sages, I am Vyasa

and Ushana (Shukracharya), among the poets. II10.37II

Of the punishers, I am the rod.

Among those who seek to conquer, I am the statesman.

Among secrets, I am silence.

Among the wise, I am wisdom. II10.38II

Whatever is the seed of all beings, I am that, too. No being, moving or unmoving, can exist without Me. II10.39II

There is no limit to my glorious manifestations, Parantapa (Arjuna). This description I have given is merely a partial illustration. II10.40II

Whatever glorious, prosperous, or powerful being manifests, know that it has My power as its source. II10.41II

On the other hand, what is the need of you knowing this extensive–but incomplete–knowledge? I sustain this creation by a part* of Myself. II10.42II

(* the Lord's foot, as referenced in the Purusha Suktam of the Rg Veda and the Taittiriya Aranyaka.)

Concluding verse:

Om! Such is the Truth in the Bhagavad Gita and the Upanishads. This is the knowledge of Supreme Consciousness. It is a scripture of union; a dialogue between Sri Krishna (the teacher) and Arjuna (the student). The tenth discourse ends, titled “Yoga of the Divine Glories–Vibhuthi Yoga”.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page